Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Long Weekend, Short Week, Weekend Again

It was 57 degrees the last Monday in June and supposed to rain in the afternoon, so I biked. It was still crowded. I used the showers at work which I think makes me even later than taking the bus. I wore my Chiaki top and the Misook pants which is like being in pyjamas. That’s nice.

I finished inserting the zipper. The seam allowances were off for the lap, so I had to add hem tape (Gertie adds a placket and I may start doing that, although the hem tape worked just fine). In the end, I hand-picked the zipper to the lap, after machine stitching the zipper to the hem tape/seam allowance only. It’s not the prettiest insertion ever but I think it’s sturdy and it looks nice from the outside.

Bathroom selfie!

Over the weekend, I finished the dress (the hem is awkward) and did a quick fit of the jacket without sleeves. Otherwise, I did a significant amount of nothing which was both just what I needed and a thing I feel guilty about.

I wore the dress to work today–the linen is a rumpled mess and I think I fit the muslin with a significantly different bra because it wears rather loose in the chest which I don’t recall from the muslin (As I’ve chopped up the muslin to fit the jacket, I can’t re-check it!). But I felt comfortable in it all day.  The fit is marginally better than ready to wear, which for now, is what I aim for. I do need to start adding the square shoulder adjustment, in addition to shortening the waist, when I make up patterns, but I already see where I’m improving. That’s something.

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2017 by in Sewing, Work and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

