Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Friday, Medieval Times

102152-icebreaker-womens-tech-lite-tank-dress-blackWe had a holiday party at Medieval Times. Even though I dragged out all my velvet and velveteen gowns (I have too many, mostly leftover from my vintage-trawling days post-college. Remarkably they all fit still and are in fine wearable condition) I did not dress up fancy.

I wore the Icebreaker tech lite tank dress in black, layered under the long grey split hem t-shirt and short boots. It’s unnaturally warm, so I had no jacket.

treeSaturday, I cleaned the house in stuff I would not mind getting stained with cleaning products.

Then Sunday, I wore the dress again, briefly, to run some errands. Then we decked the halls, which I did in my yoga pants, tank top and Santa hat.

I’ve been hesitating to buy this dress for months. In the late 80’s, my dad came to visit me and my sister at college (we attended separate colleges near to each other) and took us shopping. I bought a ponte knit tank dress which I wore into the ground over the next ten-fifteen years. Here’s a picture of me wearing it in 1997, which is eight or nine years into its lifespan:

Me, in my tank dress, safety pin tights and shoes I simply do not recognize, on the weekend while in law school.

Me, in my tank dress, safety pin tights and shoes I simply do not recognize, on the weekend while in law school.

I bought a pattern last year and some ponte knit to re-make the dress but I’ve never gotten around to it. Nonetheless, I keep going to my closet and becoming annoyed that I had not yet replaced it.

The Icebreaker dress is not a perfect stand in–the skirt is longer with two short slits; the back is higher; the fabric is lighter weight. Therefore. the Icebreaker dress layers slightly differently. I should probably go ahead a make up the intended replacement then.

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2015 by in Errands, Going Out Casual, Sewing and tagged , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

