Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Weekend

Still in the cast–which I’m wearing less at home than probably I ought to be. Yesterday, I wore the TopShop midi dress (burgundy) and a long sleeve top to deal with contractors at my condo. In between, I finished up a Burda Chill top in a striped stretch fabric that I bought cheap somewhere. I’ve made this pattern several times now: as a dress in a sweatshirt material (comfy and presentable for running errands), as a dress in a sage-colored bamboo modal (love it, but I did not have enough to double-layer and so the finishing is less than ideal) and as a top in a lovely black linen (after I made it, I could not get it on–it specifies stretch fabrics and I should have known better. I had done lovely French seams and had already hemmed it with lace tape. Hacking it apart to add a side zip was very sad, although it worked out reasonably well). I guess I like the pattern?

I made it with a double-layer of fabric, or–I guess–self-lining, and tried to work out how to use the lining to finish both the neck and the hem. I was not able to figure it out and ended up facing the neck. It’s a comfy casual top, though it wrinkles quickly.

simp9305I also finished the edges (hem, sleeves, seams) of the yellow hooded dress, which in many ways resembles a bathrobe. However, it is precisely as advertised and I’m looking forward to wearing it.

I also started Advance 2753 with a lovely printed cotton voile because as we head into fall, I could really use a spring dress.

We did venture out of the house to run a couple errands and sit on the deck with the neighbors. I wore the Eileen Fisher hemp dress and wool-blend scarf for the chill when the sun went down.

 

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

