Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

All the Weekend Days

trapezesoftOn Friday, I finished the Trapeze dress. The crisp fabric holds the shape well, but I suspect I would prefer the dress in a softer fabric. Although the muslin seemed fine, the finished dress feels a little tight through the shoulder. I probably should have done a square shoulder adjustment.

I am happy with how I took the sides in–grading from the proper size at the bust to a smaller size through the (undefined) waist. If I make it in a drapier fabric, I won’t do that.

TrapezehemtapeI am actually proud of myself for powering through and not leaving it unhemmed for a month, like I often do. I even unpinned it to add hem tape and finish it correctly. Small victories. I used brown hem tape from the stash–which was supposed to be for the Simplicity 7673 in floral corduroy. But that dress doesn’t fit, so I felt it was okay to raid the supplies. By the time I figure it out, I’ll have more hem tape.

I planned to wear the dress to dinner, but did not in the end. Instead I wore a wine-colored jersey dress from Fair Indigo. The temperature had dropped with a front moving through, so I also wore my cashmere cape.

Simp5914Over the weekend, I also cut and muslin’d the 1973 Simplicity 5914 to use the insignia blue linen from Linen Fabrics Store. I got as far as the collar and was completely confounded. I think I’ve since figured it out, but I laid it aside for the weekend anyway.

Otherwise on Saturday and Sunday, we went to the gym, sat in the yard with cocktails, played video games and relaxed. There’s always chores to do and always things to be accomplished, so what?

Manhattan with campari ice cubes (which had melted already).

Manhattan with campari ice cubes (which had melted already).

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

