Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Friday, Tulips, Booze and Costumes

TulipsandBoozeI put on the NYDJ black pants, one of the nau recycled snap tops and took my rolly-cart to the booze monger. Picked up six bottles of booze, some cherries and bitters and rolled them home.

I finished the Debbie Harry as Black Canary jacket today. I’m not exactly thrilled with it–all I can see are the flaws–but it’s done and serviceable for a costume. I’m unlikely to make the jacket again–even if I correct the mistakes, it’s not a style I have much use for or interest in.

NotFitted Flaw one: When I added the inch for ease across the shoulder, I did not bother to check where the sleeve cap would lie and, of course, it’s about 1/2 an inch too low on each arm. This is the glaring error I see everything I look at the jacket. Flaw 1-A is failure to ease the sleeve caps evenly.

Flaw two: Facings. I picked a bad fabric for the collar facings, put them in too quickly, and when they were a mess, could not be bothered to unpick them and start over. There is no close-up of what I did to make the neck part of the facing less terrible because it’s a complete hack job. Fortunately, you can’t see it when the jacket is on.

Flaw three: I (intentionally) skipped the waist gathers under the bustline to make the jacket more boxy and less fitted, but I’m not sure it was successful. I should have also shortened the ties to match, which I can still do that and probably will.

Flaw four: I (intentionally) did not follow the instructions for turning under the facing on the waist piece, slipstitching it and making the edges pretty. This is less a “flaw” and more a lazy finish. If I cut the ties off, it won’t matter.

In terms of the costume, the sleeves are too long, but October is cold in Chicago and I probably won’t shorten them.

OnDummy

Jacket on dressmaker dummy.

Inside:

Showing the lining and the terrible facing.

Showing the lining and the terrible facing.

Inside from the outside:

Facing

How the terrible facing looks when the jacket is worn.

 

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2015 by in Errands, Sewing and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

