Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Friday, So

I stitched up the new muslin for the 7673. It’s better, but the sleeve still feels slightly awkward. I wonder if it’s because I have not worn anything, other than an overcoat, with sleeves, without stretch in the fabric, in over a decade. I’m thinking through everything in my closet and everything, even my jackets, have some stretch in the fabric. I can lift my arms, but there is pulling and some lifting of the hem when I do. That’s normal, right?

It’s not constricting and not tight across the back, but I wish I had a picture of where on the body a properly fitted raglan sleeve is supposed to sit. Searching the internet has not been productive–I really ought to get a good book.

I cut it with a short sleeve this time (to spare the scraps) but I think I like it better this way.

theoryLaniUrbanIn other news, I have an unexpected job interview, so that suit (which in any event won’t be here in time) would really have come in handy. Fortunately, I also ordered something from the less steeply discounted Theory sale at Bloomingdales. Likely it won’t fit, but it will be here Monday.

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2015 by in Sewing, Shopping and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

