Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Saturday, Sunday, It’s a Weekend!

We had house guests so we did a lot of eating out and now I feel like I never want to eat again. It was chilly and I spent a lot of time in my brand new Ureshii Leia hoodie (which I had made in the rosewood color; it’s less Leia-like but also stands up to untidy better). I had thumbloops added because I love them so much.

Simplicity 7673, copyright 1968

Simplicity 7673, copyright 1968

I had finished a muslin for the Simplicity 7673 last weekend and knew I needed to raise the waist (as always), add ease to the hip and probably do a full bust adjustment. The first two are easy; the third is still new to me. I found time to trace the pattern and make the adjustments, but not to cut the new muslin and try it on.

If I make it in a stretch knit, I can probably get away without making the hip/bust adjustments, and I may do this because I’m very excited about this pattern. It’s really cute. I’d like to make it in a soft corduroy and relive being in kindergarten!

The muslin took about a day–it’s quick and easy. Plus, the raglan sleeves are more forgiving than a set-in sleeve. The envelope recommends silks, pique, linen, crepe, double-knits and wool. I think I’ll use the rust-colored crepe I have in the stash before looking for a wool, cord or something with an interesting print. I don’t want to get too literal, but it will really be nice to have something finished and wearable soon!

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2014 by in Going Out Casual, Sewing, Taking the day off and tagged , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

