Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Saturday, Lots of Things

vintagepatternsThe new round of vintage patterns arrived on Friday, but I had spent the day tidying the sewing room and tracing the shirt part (View B) of Vogue 8866. I’m tired of making muslins and discovering I don’t want to cut into the nice fabric for the same pattern.

I’m bored with sewing all weekend and having nothing to show for it. So I thought I’d just make the top of this pattern in that weird teal knit jersey, straight up without a toile, maybe tissue-fitting, maybe not.

But then the new vintage patterns arrived. So I set about tracing them. I measured the Butterick 4740 against the Vogue 8808 and the sizing looks reasonably close. I shortened the torso a bit, to raise the waist mark to my actual waist–that’s one of the reasons I traced the pattern, instead of just using it. The vintage ones are not multi-size, so you’re not cutting through anything, just around the single size. The Butterick was in excellent condition, but the McCall’s 8337 is frayed and torn in a few places. The mail-order patterns felt really fragile and I think I’ll just trace them to preserve them. Also, the Swedish tracing paper is supposed to handle basting really well.

yardvioletI think I’ll jump right in and make up the 4740 in the teal French terry that’s hanging around, needing a good use. It’s not quite warm outside yet and a short-sleeved French terry dress might be perfect.

At any rate, that’s as far as I got. We had unexpected guests and gin drinks in the yard which was struggling to feel like spring. I was just wearing messy house clothes (my Aint Give a Damn t-shirt and a pair of leggings), so I put on the Icebreaker drawstring skirt and the new Crocs for sitting around in the yard, being civilized with cocktails and conversation.

Annan came out to join us briefly, even though she’s not really allowed out of the house:

annantree

One comment on “Saturday, Lots of Things

  1. Pingback: Sunday, Lunch | Catalogue of Sorts

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2014 by in Sewing, Taking the day off.

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

