Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Sunday, Brunch

I wore my Crepe dress to brunch and I think I volunteered to make one for my sister.

Printed modal jersey.

Printed modal jersey.

Then I sorted through everything in the sewing room to decide what to do next. I have a pile of fabrics and a box of patterns that I need to match up. I have this cream colored jersey with a brown print. I had originally intended it for a wrap dress (Very Easy Vogue 8379), but since the Crepe is a wrap dress and a brown line on cream fabric, I’m wondering if there isn’t a better use for this. Maybe the Kimono Sleeve A Line dress from Sew Daily?

I think I’ll make Burda’s chill dress with the olive modal because I only have two yards and don’t want a circle skirt. The chill dress has an open sleeve, so it will need an underdress anyway, unless I make the sleeve modification shown here.

paisleyI bought this bright red paisley, which might be nice for the wrap dress. Or I could make just the bodice of the Claire McCardell Cloister dress.

I have a tiny bit of silk my father bought my mother in Vietnam in the 60’s. There’s only about a yard, so I could make a bag or possibly a shirt.

Vogue New American Designers 2900.

Vogue New American Designers 2900.

I was thinking of using the silk to make just the top from another Vogue DKNY pattern I bought in the 1990’s. I have a nice grey cotton with a black print that I’d like to make the whole pattern with. I could do them both at the same time. Step away from the stretch jerseys for a while. I might have to find a matching green to do the band at the waist if I use the silk. But I need to go to the fabric store anyway. I need a zipper and some lining so I can stitch up a Vogue Easy Options pattern (also bought in the 1990’s, but which I actually successfully made, and wore and then gave away). I’ve got a grey crepe that would be nice for that pattern. I probably would not do the full lining and instead draft facings.

I’ve got other choices, too. A thick plum wool jersey which I bought for the Cloister dress when I bought the pattern. A herringbone wool I bought for a skirt. Some tweaking still to do with the pattern I made from the Eileen Fisher sheath dress. I need to do facings for the cowl-neck shirt I made. I’d like to make a whole dress from the cowl neck shirt. I’ve got a wool skirt that I made in the 90’s which is finished except for the hem and the zipper.

Plus I started a lap quilt for my aunt back in January and haven’t touched it since.

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2013 by in Going Out Casual, Sewing and tagged , , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

