Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Friday, Play Ball

I went with my father and nephew to a baseball game. I spent most of the game discussing zombies with my nephew. I wore the Kuhl sundress and my big striped sun hat. And Chucks.

I also came close to finishing the trial run of the pattern I made from my Eileen Fisher dress. When I get finished binding the sleeve and collar and hemming it, it will be wearable, but not quite right. Because I made only two pattern pieces, the front and back bodice and front and back skirt are exactly alike. Of course, that’s not quite how a body is shaped. So the fit is fine the bodice across the chest, but too loose across the back, whereas the fit is fine across the front of the skirt, but a little wonky across the back.

Wool dress on the left; first attempt at a copy in jersey on the right.

Wool dress on the left; first attempt at a copy in jersey on the right.

I have some thoughts how to fix it, but I’m moving on to another commercial pattern first.

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2013 by in Sewing and tagged , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

