Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Friday, Sewing

Crepe dress, made from bedsheet, back view.

Crepe dress, made from bedsheet, back view.

I finished the Crepe dress today. I mean, really finished: hemmed, pressed, all threads tied off and clipped, seams pinked or bound. Finished. The first garment I have actually finished in more than ten years, really, aside from the skirt I made last fall.

I am happy with it, although it does not fit as well as I thought it would from the muslin. Not surprising that I don’t fit things as well as I’d like, as I have never really tried to before.

The armhole facings were vexing, but in the end, they look fine–not perfect, but better than good enough. The skirt was 4-6 inches too long, which is annoying only in that I could have cut more pieces from one sheet, if I had known I’d need to take so much off the bottom when hemming.

I will definitely make it again, in something more luxurious. I will probably add a sleeve next time.

2 comments on “Friday, Sewing

  1. dressesandme
    July 6, 2013

    Very pretty!

  2. Pingback: Saturday, Party | Closet Catalogue

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2013 by in Sewing.

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

