Catalogue of Sorts

What I wear, when I wear it, and how it works on my bike

Sunday, Busy at Home

Today I finished the second muslin for a dress which is partly based off these drafting instructions and partly based off a tracing of the merino2 dress. The drafting instructions yielded an extreme A-line, sleeveless dress that wasn’t much what I had in mind.

Using the merino2 as a guide, I cut it down to about the right size and made a second muslin in a stretch fabric. I cribbed together various internet instructions and patterns from the box to make a sleeve, which still needs adjustment. But, considering it’s the very first thing I’ve ever made completely without a pattern, it worked out pretty well.

Second muslin.

Second muslin.

It’s a very simple dress to begin with, but I think it was a good effort.

For the record, I did not really get dressed today–just wore houseclothes.

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2013 by in Sewing and tagged , , .

Archives

Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

